

ANNUAL AND SPECIAL MEETING

June 28th 2022 5:30 p.m. <u>Via ZOOM Virtual Technology</u>

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Minutes of Previous Meeting
 - a. June 29, 2021
- 3. Report of the Chair
- 4. Report of the Chief Executive Officer
- 5. Report of the Chief of Staff
- 6. Report of the Chair of the Audit Committee
- 7. Report of the Auditor
- 8. Appointment of the Auditor to hold office until the next annual meeting and authority for Directors to fix remuneration of the Auditor
- 9. Report from the Nominating Committee
 - a. Election of Directors
- 10. Termination of Meeting



DRAFT

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Corporation

Date: Tuesday, June 29th, 2021

Via ZOOM Virtual Technology

In Attendance:

Leigh Popov, Ligaya Byrch, Lawre Pietras, Dan Germain, Brian Sirbovan, Mario Benedetto, Sheila Clark, Sheila Kirkland, Chuck Penny, Steve Clarke, Sheila Marner, Ted Markle, Marc Lemieux

Carmine Stumpo (President and CEO), Dr. Nancy Merrow (Chief of Staff & VP Medical Affairs), Cheryl Harrison (Exec VP Patient Care & People Strategy); Tom Roberts (VP Corporate Services and CFO), Terry Dyni (Director of Community Relations) Jill Colin (Director and CNE), Mark Riczu (Director Foundation), Dr. Monica Chaudhuri (President Medical Staff Association), Dr. Melanie Colpitts (VP Medical Staff Association)

Additional Corporate Members:

Al Scott, Bernadette deMunnik, Cheryl Behan, George Beatty, Jackie Shaughnessy, John Cameron, John Mattinson, Maggie Martin, Marny Dadson, Mike McMurter, Paul Evans, Paul Leskew, Ray Hayhurst, Dr. Sandy Tigchelaar, Dr. Tim Tigchelaar, Ken Brownlee

Recorder: Marlene Nevill

1. Call to Order

The meeting was Called to Order at 6:05 p.m. by the Chair in accordance with By-Law #1 Section #3 and Quorum was present, therefore the meeting was in a position to conduct business in accordance with the Corporate By-Laws. The meeting was facilitated via zoom due to the ongoing risks associated with the COVID-19 pandemic. Leigh Popov took a moment of remembrance for the recent cultural tragedies that have been discovered. The Land Acknowledgement Statement was read for the members.

1. Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting

Moved by: Brian Sirbovan

Seconded by: Lawre Pietras

THAT the minutes of the August 25th, 2020 Annual General Meeting of the Corporation of Orillia Soldiers' Memorial Hospital be approved.

CARRIED

2. Report of the Board Chair Leigh Popov

Leigh provided a high level summary of the 2020 2021 Fiscal Year denoting that the Audited Financial Statements are posted on our web site for viewing.

3. Report of the President and Chief Executive Officer Carmine Stumpo

Carmine provided an overview of the past year which included the challenges and the successes our team experienced during the COVID 19 Pandemic. We are hopeful that; with the efforts surrounding vaccinations; we will enter into the recovery stage for the overall health and well-being of our community. It is expected that our community will see a 40% increase in bed capacity in the years to come, and the planning for our Future Hospital is extremely important to ensure we continue to provide the best care and services for patients and families.

4. Report of the Chief of Staff Dr. Nancy Merrow

Dr. Nancy Merrow presented on behalf of the Medical Affairs Team, thanking them for all of their efforts over the course of the pandemic to ensure the patients received the best care possible each and every day. A brief overview was also provided in regards to the work underway by the Orillia & Area Recruitment and Retention Committee.

5. Report of the Chair of the Audit Committee – Dan Germain

Dan Germain provided the key points for the 2020 2021 Fiscal Year on behalf of the Audit Committee.

7. Report of the Auditor

Oscar Poloni Auditor for KPMG presented his report for the year ending March 31st 2021 and thanked the OSMH team for their ongoing support and efforts during this last year.

8. Appointment of the Auditor for the 2021 2022 Fiscal Year

Moved by: Ligaya Byrch

Seconded by: Sheila Marner

THAT KPMG be appointed as the auditor for the Corporation to hold office until the next Annual General Meeting and the Directors hereby authorized to fix remuneration.

CARRIED

9. Acknowledgement of Departing Board Members – Dan Germain

Thank you to John Mattinson served for the last 6 years and to Ron Shulman who served close to a one year term.

10. Report from the Nominating Committee - Dan Germain

Following the yearly recruitment and interview process, the Nominating Committee recommended a slate of 5 board members, which includes the nomination of one new board member.

11. Election of the Directors - Dan Germain

Each of the candidates provided a short video for the members in attendance this evening.

As a result of the recommendations from the Nominating Committee the Corporate Members voted on the election of the candidates presented.

Moved By: Mario Benedetto

Seconded By: Sheila Clark

RESOLVED THAT:

The following individuals be elected as Directors of the Corporation to hold office for the length of term designated below, or until their respective successors are elected or appointed:

Ligaya Byrch - 3 year term Lawre Pietras - 3 year term Leigh Popov - 3 year term Brian Sirbovan -3 year term Ending at the 2024 AGM

And that the following individual be elected as Director of the Corporation to hold office for a one-year term, or until their respective successor is elected or appointed:

Ken Brownlee - ending at the 2022 AGM

CARRIED

13. Motion to Terminate

At the Call of the Chair

THAT there being no other business, the meeting be terminated at 6:58 p.m.

CARRIED