

#### **2023 Annual General Meeting**

#### Election of Directors Explanatory Note

As identified in our By-laws, Section 10: Nominations for Election of Directors, nominations for election as Director at the annual meeting of the Corporation may be made only by:

- (a) a nominating committee of the Board, or
- (b) Members of the Corporation provided that each nomination by Members;
  - (i) is in writing and signed by at least three (3) Members in good standing; and
  - (ii) is accompanied by a written declaration signed by the nominee that he or she will serve as a Director in accordance with this By-law if elected; and
  - (iii) is submitted to and received by the Secretary at least thirty (30) days before the date of the annual meeting.

The OSMH Board consists of twelve (12) elected directors, and eight (8) Ex-Officio appointed members. Each year, the terms of a minimum of four (4) directors come due for election or re-election at the AGM. In addition to those four (4) director positions, additional director positions may also require election as a result of existing vacancies or individuals appointed to the Board mid-term.

For 2023, the Nominating Committee will present seven (7) candidates, who it is recommending for the Members' approval. The seven (7) candidates recommended by the Nominating Committee and approved by the Board are:

Kelly	An Indigenous educator, Ms. Brownbill has conducted numerous cultural awareness training sessions across a broad range of service sectors including key staff from both the provincial and federal governments. She has worked with health care providers from policy
Brownbill**	makers to front line clinicians to improve equitable and safe access to services for Indigenous people. Ms. Brownbill is being recommended to complete the final two years of the term she was appointed to mid-term in the Fall of 2022.
Dr. Janice Burrows	Dr. Burrows is currently a locum family physician for the Cottage Country Family Health Team working in a part time capacity. She has extensive health care system level experience, serving on the Board of the Ontario Health Quality Council, supporting the Ontario Telemedicine Network and as a Primary Care Lead for Cancer Care Ontario among other leadership appointments. Dr. Burrows resides in Orillia and is being recommended for a two-year term.
Peter Caldwell*	Mr. Caldwell originally joined the Board after the 2021 AGM, filling a mid-term vacancy. His experience includes 40+ years in government and post-secondary leadership roles, serving as Director/CEO of the Ontario Arts Council, Vice-President, Finance and Administration of OCAD University, and Executive Director of the Arts Foundation of Greater Toronto. Mr. Caldwell is being recommended for a three-year term.

# Dr. Sheila Clark\*

First elected to the Board in 2018, Dr. Clark is a registered nurse (RN) with a diverse international healthcare background that has included senior leadership and consulting positions in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, and Canada. She has a degree in Nursing, a Master of Science in Health Care Administration and received her Doctor of Education in 2016 from the University of Calgary. Dr. Clark is a resident of Ramara and is being recommended for a three-year term.

## Terri McKinnon

Ms. McKinnon is a retired executive in the professional services sector, most recently serving as Partner, Assurance at PricewaterhouseCoopers in Toronto. She has extensive professional experience leading audits for hospitals in Ontario, including some undergoing major redevelopment. Ms. McKinnon also has extensive governance experience as a previous member of the Scarborough Health Network Board during their merger of three facilities, and currently sits on the Board of Public Health Ontario. She has recently moved to Oro-Medonte and is being recommended for a three-year term.

## Ryan Spurgeon\*

Mr. Spurgeon was first appointed to the Board at the June 2022 AGM. He is President of ANTAMEX Industries and associated portfolio companies with over 400+ employees across 6 operating brands, and 3 manufacturing facilities. A resident of Severn Township, Mr. Spurgeon has an Executive MBA from Ivey Business School at the University of Western Ontario and a BBA (Hons.) from Laurentian University. He is being recommended for a three-year term.

## James (Jamie) Williams

Mr. Williams is a retired healthcare executive, most recently serving as VP/GM of Zimmer Biomet Canada, a supplier of medical equipment predominantly in the orthopaedic surgery field. His experience includes strategic planning, complex financial management, stakeholder management and human resource planning. Jamie has strong ties to the Orillia area as his father was a dentist here with privileges at OSMH. Mr. Williams is being recommended for a one-year term.

The motion to be put before the Members at the AGM follows:

#### **RESOLVED THAT:**

1. The following individuals be elected as Directors of the Corporation to hold office for the specified term, or until their respective successors are elected or appointed:

Kelly Brownbill - 2 year term

Dr. Janice Burrows - 2 year term

Peter Caldwell - 3 year term

Dr. Sheila Clark - 3 year term

Terri McKinnon - 3 year term

Ryan Spurgeon – 3 year term

James (Jamie) Williams - 1 year term

<sup>\*</sup> denotes incumbent

<sup>\*\*</sup>denotes mid-term appointment

# By- Law Amendments Explanatory Note

The Board of Directors approved the name change from Medical Staff Association to the Credentialed Staff Association and approved the inclusion of all credentialed Associate and Active staff as voting members of the OSMH Credentialed Staff Association on March 28, 2023.

There are two proposed changes to the By-laws, being brought forward to the Corporation for approval under the Credentialed Staff Section.

- a) Proposed name change from Medical Staff Association (MSA) to the Credentialed Staff Association (CSA) Note: Necessary edits will be made throughout the various sections of the Credentialed Staff Bylaws on approval of the change.
- b) Adding all Credentialed Staff to the CSA Membership under item 70 Active Staff:

#### 70. ACTIVE STAFF

- (a) The Active Staff shall consist of those Credentialed Staff members who have been appointed to the Active Staff by the Board.
- (b) Except where approved by the Board, no Credentialed Staff member with an Active Staff appointment at another hospital shall be appointed to the Active Staff.
- (c) All Active Staff members shall have admitting privileges unless otherwise specified in their appointment to the Active Staff.
- (d) Physicians Physicians, Dentists, Midwives and Nurse Practitioners who are Active Staff members shall be eligible to vote at Medical Staff Association Credentialed Staff Association meetings.
- Dentists and Midwives who are Active Staff members may attend Medical Staff Association meetings but shall not be eligible to vote.
- (e) Physicians who are Active Staff members shall be eligible to hold office and to sit on any committee of the Medical Staff Association Credentialed Staff Association. Dentists, and Midwives and Nurse Practitioners who are Active Staff members are not eligible to hold an office of the Medical Staff Association Credentialed Staff Association.