

<u>AGENDA</u>

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CORPORATION

June 27th 2023 5:30 p.m.

In Person at the Orillia Rec Centre 255 West Street South, Orillia Multi-Purpose Room

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Minutes of Previous Meeting
 - a. June 28, 2022 (pages 2 to 4)
- 3. Report of the Chair
- 4. Report of the Chief Executive Officer
- 5. Report of the Chief of Staff
- 6. Proposed Credentialed Staff Bylaw Changes
 - a) Name Change Medical Staff Association (MSA) to Credentialed Staff Association (CSA)
 - b) Addition of All Credentialed Staff to Credentialed Staff Association (CSA) Membership
- 7. Report of the Chair of the Audit Committee
- 8. Report of the Auditor
- 9. Appointment of the Auditor to hold office until the next annual meeting and authority for Directors to fix remuneration of the Auditor
- **10.** Report from the Nominating Committee
 - a. Election of Directors
- **11. Termination of Meeting**



<u>DRAFT</u> Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Corporation <u>Date: Tuesday, June 28, 2022</u> Via ZOOM Technology

Via ZOOM Technology

In Attendance:

Ligaya Byrch, Lawre Pietras, Brian Sirbovan, Mario Benedetto, Dr. Sheila Clark, Sheila Marner, Ted Markle, Marc Lemieux, Ken Brownlee, Peter Caldwell, Glenna Tinney, Steve Clarke joined the meeting at 6:01 p.m.

Carmine Stumpo (President and CEO), Dr. Nancy Merrow (Chief of Staff & VP Medical Affairs), Tom Roberts (EVP Corporate Services and CFO), Jill Colin (VP Patient Care and CNE), Debbie Singh (VP People Services and CHRO), Terry Dyni (Director of Community Relations), Mark Riczu (OSMH Foundation), Dr. Monica Chaudhuri (President Medical Staff Association), Dr. Melanie Colpitts (VP Medical Staff Association)

Additional Corporate Members Present Today via ZOOM:

Jackie Shaughnessy, John Cameron, Mike McMurter, Patricia Hehn, Ryan Spurgeon

Regrets: Leigh Popov, Dan Germain

Recorder: Marlene Nevill

Guests: Lisa Thomson-Roop, and Greg Coassin OSMH Communications and IT Support 1. Call to Order

The meeting was Called to Order at 5:31 p.m. by the 1st Vice Chair Ligaya Byrch in accordance with By-Law #1 Sections #3 and Quorum was present, therefore the meeting was in a position to conduct business. This year's meeting was facilitated via zoom due to the ongoing risks associated with the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Land Acknowledgement Statement was presented for the members this evening.

1. Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting

Moved by: Sheila Marner

Seconded by: Mario Benedetto

THAT the minutes of the June 29, 2021 Annual General Meeting of the Corporation of Orillia Soldiers' Memorial Hospital be approved.

CARRIED

2. Report of the Board Chair Leigh Popov

Leigh Popov was unable to attend in person on ZOOM and sent along a video presentation for the members this evening. There have been some significant milestones reached over the last two years during his time as our Board Chair. Leigh extended his gratitude for the OSMH Team and the dedication and quality patient care that has continued during the COVID 19 Pandemic. We will continue on with our efforts to advocate for our Future Hospital and to Soldier On in our Strategic Plan with our commitment to continually improve quality care for our patients and families.

3. Report of the President and Chief Executive Officer Carmine Stumpo

Carmine provided a high level overview of the hospital operations facts and figures over the last year. Carmine thanked the team for their ongoing care and compassion for our patients and families during the COVID 19 Pandemic. The most recent census data reflects the continual growth of surrounding communities and further supports our advocacy efforts for additional funding for in-patient beds and the need for a new Hospital. OSMH is currently planning and prioritizing our work to focus on reducing surgical back log, restoring Health Human Resources and addressing the overall capacity and flow challenges. Partnerships with the Couchiching Ontario Health Team continues to evolve and grow. The Strategic Plan update was included in the presentation this evening.

Carmine acknowledged and thanked two of our Senior Team Members for their service at OSMH. Cheryl Harrison, recently appointed as the CEO at Muskoka Algonquin Health Care (MAHC) and Dr. Nancy Merrow, who announced her retirement plans for this summer.

4. Report of the Chief of Staff Dr. Nancy Merrow

Dr. Merrow presented her report with a focus on our COVID recovery efforts, the need for ongoing vigilance and the care for our people experiencing possible burnout in the days ahead. Credentialed staff leadership will continue to set goals, plan for upcoming retirements, and Physician recruitment on an ongoing basis. Special recognition for Clinical Excellence, Leadership, and Long Service Awards for credentialed staff including 40 year and 50 year milestones. Thank you to all OSMH Team Members.

5. Report of the Audit Committee - Lawre Pietras on behalf of Dan Germain

Dan Germain was unable to join the meeting this evening, and Lawre Pietras presented on his behalf. A brief overview of the activity and meetings of the Audit Committee was provided for the members.

7. Report of the Auditor

Richard Spadafora Auditor for KPMG presented the report for the year ending March 31st 2022. The Audited Financial Statements are posted on our OSMH Website for viewing.

8. Appointment of the Auditor for the 2021 2022 Fiscal Year - Lawre Pietras on behalf of Dan Germain

Moved by: Ted Markle

Seconded by: Ken Brownlee

THAT KPMG be appointed as the auditor for the Corporation to hold office until the next Annual General Meeting and the Directors hereby authorized to fix remuneration.

CARRIED

9. Report from the Nominating Committee – Ligaya Byrch

Ligaya Byrch presented on behalf of the Nominating Committee and the explanatory note was provided in the agenda package. 6 candidates have been brought forward for consideration. Each candidate had a few moments to address the committee prior to the final vote by the Corporate Members this evening. 9 a) Election of the Directors - Ligaya Byrch

Moved By: Lawre Pietras

Seconded By: Brian Sirbovan

RESOLVED THAT:

The following individuals be elected as Directors of the Corporation to hold office for the length of term, or until their respective successors are elected or appointed:

- Mario Benedetto 3 year term
- Sheila Marner 3 year term
- **o** Ted Markle- 3 year term
- Ken Brownlee 3 year term
- Peter Caldwell 1 year term
- Ryan Spurgeon 1 year term

CARRIED

10. Motion to Terminate

At the Call of the Chair

THAT there being no other business , the meeting be terminated at 6:43 p.m.

CARRIED