News + Announcements

OSMH announces list of recommended candidates to fill Board vacancies at 2023 AGM

(Orillia, ON) – The Orillia Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital (OSMH) Board of Directors has released their list of recommended candidates to fill the anticipated vacancies on the Board this summer. The recommendation will be considered by the hospital’s corporate members at the Annual General Meeting (AGM), which will be held on Tuesday, June 27, 2023.

The seven candidates recommended by the Nominating Committee and approved by the Board include:

Kelly Brownbill An Indigenous educator, Ms. Brownbill has conducted numerous cultural awareness
training sessions across a broad range of service sectors including key staff from
both the provincial and federal governments. She has worked with health care providers from policy makers to front line clinicians to improve equitable and safe access to services for Indigenous people.  Ms. Brownbill is being recommended to complete the final two years of the term she was appointed to mid-term in the Fall of 2022.
Dr. Janice Burrows Dr. Burrows is currently a locum family physician for the Cottage Country Family Health Team working in a part time capacity.  She has extensive health care system level experience, serving on the Board of the Ontario Health Quality Council, supporting the Ontario Telemedicine Network and as a Primary Care Lead for Cancer Care Ontario among other leadership appointments.  Dr. Burrows resides in Orillia and is being recommended for a two-year term.
Peter Caldwell* Mr. Caldwell originally joined the Board after the 2021 AGM, filling a mid-term vacancy.  His experience includes 40+ years in government and post-secondary leadership roles, serving as Director/CEO of the Ontario Arts Council, Vice-President, Finance and Administration of OCAD University, and Executive Director of the Arts Foundation of Greater Toronto.  Mr. Caldwell is being recommended for a three-year term.
Dr. Sheila Clark* First elected to the Board in 2018, Dr. Clark is a registered nurse (RN) with a diverse international healthcare background that has included senior leadership and consulting positions in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, and Canada.  She has a degree in Nursing, a Master of Science in Health Care Administration and received her Doctor of Education in 2016 from the University of Calgary.  Dr. Clark is a resident of Ramara and is being recommended for a three-year term.
Terri McKinnon Ms. McKinnon is a retired executive in the professional services sector, most recently serving as Partner, Assurance at PricewaterhouseCoopers in Toronto.   She has extensive professional experience leading audits for hospitals in Ontario, including some undergoing major redevelopment.  Ms. McKinnon also has extensive governance experience as a previous member of the Scarborough Health Network Board during their merger of three facilities, and currently sits on the Board of Public Health Ontario.  She has recently moved to Oro-Medonte and is being recommended for a three-year term.
Ryan Spurgeon* Mr. Spurgeon was first appointed to the Board at the June 2022 AGM.  He is President of ANTAMEX Industries and associated portfolio companies with over 400+ employees across 6 operating brands, and 3 manufacturing facilities.  A resident of Severn Township, Mr. Spurgeon has an Executive MBA from Ivey Business School at the University of Western Ontario and a BBA (Hons.) from Laurentian University.  He is being recommended for a three-year term.
James (Jamie) Williams Mr. Williams is a retired healthcare executive, most recently serving as VP/GM of Zimmer Biomet Canada, a supplier of medical equipment predominantly in the orthopaedic surgery field.  His experience includes strategic planning, complex financial management, stakeholder management and human resource planning.   Jamie has strong ties to the Orillia area as his father was a dentist here with privileges at OSMH.  Mr. Williams is being recommended for a one-year term.

* denotes incumbent

The OSMH Board of Directors comprises 12 elected members from the community and 8 appointed members.

The 8 appointed (ex-officio) members include representatives from Orillia City Council, Nurses Alumnae and Branch 34 of the Royal Canadian Legion, along with 5 appointments under the Public Hospitals Act, which include the hospital’s CEO, Chief of Staff, Chief Nursing Executive, along with the President and Vice-President of the Medical Staff Association.