News + Announcements

Trust, Courage and Teamwork highlighted in 2022 OSMH Board Awards of Excellence

Trust, Courage and Teamwork highlighted in 2022 OSMH Board Awards of Excellence

(Orillia, ON) – Unwavering commitment to patient care and colleagues was a central theme of the nominees and recipients of the 2022 OSMH Board Awards of Excellence, presented Wednesday in a special ceremony held in the hospital cafeteria and broadcast to the organization via Zoom.

The peer-nominated awards align with the hospital’s Strategic Plan, with one winner for each of the hospital’s three Values – Trust, Courage and Teamwork as well as an Excellence in Leadership Award to recognize leaders in the organization who exemplify the three Values.

Matthew Walker, Maintenance Journeyman with the OSMH Facilities Department, captured the Trust Award, for both his professional and personal commitment to safety and accountability as well as the pride he demonstrates in his daily work.  Specifically, Walker was applauded for his recent dedicated oversight in the rollout of an enhanced Code White system for the safety and security of our Soldiers’ team.

The Soldiers’ Float Team – a team of 62 dedicated RNs, RPN’s and PSW’s, was presented with the Courage Award for consistently rising to the challenge of caring for all different patient types on all units of the hospital with expertise and compassion. The team was recognized for their myriad of skills and adaptability that truly supports the whole hospital in delivering superior care to the community.

The Teamwork Award was presented to Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) and Paediatrics RNs Lisa Ayers and Vicki Martin.  The pair were lauded for not only their ability to foster teamwork across multiple disciplines and their commitment to family based care on the units but their role as Paediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) course educators. Over the past 20 years the majority of PALS certified health care practitioners in our region have been certified by Ayers and Martin.  This work is outside of their regular shift work as nurses and exemplifies the values and mission of OSMH.

Dr. Melanie Colpitts, Paediatrician received the Excellence in Leadership Award for her tremendous leadership roles locally, regionally and provincially to help shape policies for the streamlining of care for children and youth in the extended community, impacting not only Orillia but all 5 of our surrounding Level 1 partners.   Dr. Colpitt’s commitment to the Pediatrics Program, to OSMH, to our Regional partners and to the care children receive throughout the province is an exemplary demonstration of a physician who goes above and beyond, who demonstrates remarkable leadership and team work.

“Reviewing all the nominations filled me with pride and spoke volumes to the spirit of teamwork and dedication that exist in our hospital,” said Board Chair Ligaya Byrch.

“On behalf of our entire Board, I want to recognize the outstanding achievements of all our nominees and recipients. To be recognized by your peers and colleagues for the outstanding work you do every day is a reason to celebrate.”


2022 OSMH Board Award of Excellence Recipients (L-R) OSMH Board Chair, Ligaya Byrch, Award Recipients RPN Nicole Arnold, Courage Award; RPN Kailey Adams, Courage Award; Dr. Melanie Colpitts, Leadership Award; PSW Shannon Reid, Courage Award; RN Vicki Martin, Teamwork Award; PSW Kate McCarron, Courage Award; RN Lisa Ayers, Teamwork Award; Maintenance Journeyman, Matthew Walker, Trust Award; OSMH Board Vice Chair Lawre Pietras